Menopause Does not have to keep us Down!

Ladies, I want to let you know menopause  is no longer a taboo subject. To prove this, I am going to talk about it and encourage you to live life to the fullest no matter your age or changing bodies. You are not alone in this endeavor. There are thousands of women living these terrible unfair changes we have to go through. It doesn’t help one iota when someone says, “be grateful, some don’t have the chance to live long enough to experience these symptoms. To them I feel for these unfortunate women, however, it does not make it any less uncomfortable, nor do I feel “fortunate.” Lets face it, hot flashes, mood swings and dry vagina’s that make it painful to have sex with our husbands is not pleasant. It is not life enhancing. It is during these times that I am convinced that if there is a God, it is definitely male.So how do we empower ourselves. Those who like me feel ignored, unimportant to our society that loathes growing old. For me it entails no longing focusing on my sagging boobs that once stood out straight and proud. Accepting our bodies that have gone from firm tight butts and abdomens to frumpy wrinkled skin. I didn’t know a body could form so many wrinkles and dimples! And why wasn’t I told about thinning hair you know where! It is no wonder some men look for younger women to have sex with. Is it right? Hell no. I would kill my husband and the lady he was with if it happened to me. And why do you want to kill that lady and not your husband anyway!

However, there are still good times ahead. We are not old like some want to believe. This is not the end of the road. Life can still be fun and worthwhile. We only need to take control of how we react to these menopausal years.To continually remind ourselves each morning when we look in the mirror that we are important and have something to give back to society.

So here is how I choose to begin later years. From this day forward I am taking back control  of my life. It is up to us whether or not we fall into the depts. of despair, blaming our husbands for our misery; yes some days they are. But now   I say to every women out there who are going through these times in their lives, it is time to empower ourselves once again. Some of us have never felt empowered, so we will have to find ways to do so. Look within our selves and ask, “what would empowerment mean to me?” What activities would I enjoy getting involved in. Then you go out there, search the web and find where there groups or other women doing these things. Look for those who are living life to the fullest each, no matter their ailments or pain in joints. Stay away from the ladies who sit around feeling sorry for themselves and just seek pity instead of happiness, enjoyment each new day. I, for instance have joined the Red Hat Society and am Queen of our new chapter in my town.

Whoops, once again I divert from the topic at hand. So where was I. Oh yes, menopause and its joys. Well I will not waste another moment feeling and acting like an old prude. I am not old. My mind is active and wants to learn new things and I intend to!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

